top of page



Odom-ashwednesday-sterlsev-m (1).png


A Lenten Art Journaling Experience


Join Jane Hanna Stoudt in an immersive art journaling experience through the Lent 2021 Season.  Jane has chosen the book Surrender All by Jen Norton as an illuminated guide through the stations of the cross.

Jane will guide you through an art journaling experience that immerses you in the journey of the Stations of the Cross, a series of 14 images  portraying events in the Passion of Christ, from his condemnation by Pontius Pilate to his entombment.

Any level artist from non-artist to expert will love this journey. Learn art techniques while pondering the extravagant love of Christ through the Stations of the Cross.

The series of stations is as follows: (1) Jesus is condemned to death, (2) he is made to bear his cross, (3) he falls the first time, (4) he meets his mother, (5) Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross, (6) Veronica wipes Jesus’ face, (7) he falls the second time, (8) the women of Jerusalem weep over Jesus, (9) he falls the third time, (10) he is stripped of his garments, (11) he is nailed to the cross, (12) he dies on the cross, (13) he is taken down from the cross, and (14) he is placed in the sepulchre.

Jane provides sketches of each station, video instruction on painting the stations and journaling prompts to  to enrich your Lent experience and bring you closer to Christ this Lenten season.

Join us at Painting with Jane-Sacred Seasons.

There is no charge to join Jane's painting group, however, if you feel led to give,  gifts are appreciated on any level and can be given here:

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button

What is Lent?

Lent, which begins Ash Wednesday and ends on Holy Thursday, is a period of spiritual renewal that helps us prepare for the celebration of the Paschal mystery of Christ—that is, his passion, death and resurrection. The three pillars of the Lenten season are prayer, fasting, and almsgiving.   By spending time in prayer and in reflection on the Scriptures, through penance and through giving up (sacrificial acts) and giving to others (charitable acts), we look to experience a spiritual reawakening that brings us closer to Christ.

Lent Resources


Faith and Leadership Lent Resources


Pray More Retreat



On the first Sunday of Lent, all seven candles are lit. As each week of Lent passes, one candle is extinguished. Unlike Advent where a new candle is lit each week and the light slowly gets brighter, during Lent each week gets progressively darker, until there is complete darkness on Good Friday.

“Whereas Advent is a season of ever-increasing light anticipating the incarnation of Christ, Lent is a season of ever-decreasing light approaching His crucifixion. Light is gradually extinguished to symbolize the journey through the wilderness and toward the cross and tomb.”


On Good Friday it appeared that darkness and death had won. The Light had been extinguished. But thanks be to God that it doesn’t end there! “O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting?” The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. [1 Corinthians 15:55-57] Sin and death have been defeated! On Resurrection Sunday all seven candles are lit as we celebrate the hope, life, and victory we have because of Jesus. He is risen, He is risen indeed!

Create Your Own Lent Candle Centerpiece

bottom of page